Contemporary Theatre Review is an international peer-reviewed journal that engages with the crucial issues and innovations in theatre today. Encompassing a wide variety of theatre forms, from new playwrights and devisors to theatres of movement, image and other forms of physical expression, from new acting methods to music theatre, live art and multi-media production work, the journal encourages contributions on physical theatre, opera, dance, design and the increasingly blurred boundaries between the physical and the visual arts.

We aim to publish essays that face the challenge of finding innovative critical approaches to match artistic experimentation, and to encourage scholarly work that transcends established categories of academic practice. This may involve a focus on productions that bring together different artistic traditions, or a consideration of how theatre engages with social and political realities, or an engagement with the format of the academic essay in a bid to reflect the performance being analysed. The journal examines trends in contemporary theatre and performance, and seeks to explore how theatrical vocabularies are shifting to accommodate and reflect global and local cultures.

As well as research articles, the journal publishes book reviews, and makes space for production notes, designs, manifestos and interviews by emergent and established theatre-makers, which are collected in a Documents section. Meanwhile the journal’s Backpages section strives for a greater degree of immediate, topical engagement than is usual in academic drama publishing, and aims to present a more expansive view of theatre and performance than is usually offered in general review-based print and digital media.  The journal’s website offers online Interventions, responding to current developments in the field and extending discussions from the print journal through a variety of writing formats and multimedia.  Further information on the scope of the journal can be found here.

Contemporary Theatre Review is edited and published with the support of Queen Mary University of London. The journal is published quarterly by Routledge Journals, an imprint of Taylor & Francis.

Peer Review Policy: All research articles published in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two anonymous referees.

Submissions for the journal

We accept submissions for the print journal by online submission through ScholarOne Manuscripts: https://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/gctr. Please read the guide for ScholarOne authors before making a submission.  You can also find specific guidelines for preparing and submitting your manuscript to Contemporary Theatre Review on the Taylor & Francis website, and more general support is offered by Taylor & Francis’s Author Services website.

Editorial board

David Calder, University of Manchester, UK (Book Reviews)
Broderick Chow, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London (Interventions)
Maria M. Delgado, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London, UK
Maggie B. Gale, University of Manchester, UK
Bryce Lease, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK
Caridad Svich, dramatist and scholar, USA (Backpages)
Sarah Thomasson, Victoria University of Wellington, NZ

Consultant Editor
Aoife Monks, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Editorial Assistant
Clio Unger, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London, UK
James Rowson, University of Essex, UK

Editorial Associates
Paul Allain, University of Kent at Canterbury, UK
Len Berkman, Smith College, USA
Peter Boenisch, University of Kent at Canterbury, UK
Stephen J. Bottoms, University of Manchester, UK
Marvin Carlson, City University of New York, USA
Jill Dolan, Princeton University, USA
Jen Harvie, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Nadine Holdsworth, University of Warwick, UK
Dominic Johnson, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Patrick Lonergan, National University of Ireland, Galway
Paul Rae, University of Melbourne, Australia
Dan Rebellato, Royal Holloway University of London, UK
Sir Anril Pineda Tiatco, University of the Philippines, Diliman, Philippines
Joanne Tompkins, University of Queensland, Australia
W. B. Worthen, Columbia University, USA

Advisory Board
Khalid Amine, Abdelmalek Essaâdi University, Morocco
Sarah Bay-Cheng, Bowdoin College, USA
Jacqueline Bolton, University of Lincoln, UK
Mateusz Borowski, Jagiellonian University, Poland
Gavin Butt, Northumbria University, UK
Michelle Liu Carriger, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Kate Dorney, University of Manchester, UK
Jennifer Doyle, University of California Riverside, USA
Bishnupriya Dutt, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
Stephen Farrier, University of London, UK
Karen Fricker, Brock University, Canada
Jean Graham-Jones, City University of New York, USA
Milena Grass Kleiner, Pontifica Universidad Católica de Chile
Stephen Greer, University of Glasgow, UK
Deirdre Heddon, University of Glasgow, UK
Amelia Jones, University of Southern California, USA
Lois Keidan, Live Art Development Agency, UK
Joe Kelleher, University of Roehampton, UK
Ric Knowles, University of Guelph, Canada
Tavia Nyong’o, Yale University, USA
Mark Ravenhill, playwright, UK
Alan Read, King’s College London, UK
Heike Roms, University of Exeter, UK
Graham Saunders, University of Birmingham, UK
Lara Shalson, King’s College London, UK

Interventions editorial team

Broderick Chow, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London, UK
Vanessa Damilola Macaulay, Queen Mary, University of London, UK
Sharanya Murali, Brunel University London, UK
Ella Parry-Davies, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London, UK
Bella Poynton, University at Buffalo, State University of New York, USA
Stefanie Sachsenmaier, Middlesex University, UK
Azadeh Sharifi, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
Liyang Xia, Centre for Ibsen Studies, University of Oslo, Norway

Interventions was initially conceived and edited by Theron Schmidt. Previous editors have been Adam Alston, Elyssa Livergant, Johanna Linsley. Aneta Mancewicz, and Eleanor Roberts.